UNTITLED

Son…respect a woman,

For you are a gentleman,

And not ‘coz she is a woman,

I remember his words.
Hold your blade up straight,

Taking smooth but firm strokes,

As you keenly look in the mirror,

For that’s how you shave your beard.
Give a firm handshake,

As your stance you maintain,

For in words nations have been built,

And many a like destroyed.
His words echo deep in me,

As I look into your eyes,

I see the same innocence I had,

I know my time to pass it on is nigh.
©Joy

Leave a Reply

